Clam0373’s Blog


So good at blogging NOT
January 18, 2009, 1:08 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized

I am trying!

Interesting things going on as far as people go. I have found that somewhere in life I have become the positive one. I am forever telling people to be thankful for what you have and not worry about what you don’t have. Today I had a long conversation with someone about comparing themselves on an even playing field. I don’t have a problem with testing myself (that’s what trialing is all about) but I will not compare myself to someone who is at a different space then I am. It is unfair to compare myself to someone with more resources then I have and then complain that they are further ahead. I have three kids, that’s fact. I work limited hours because of those three kids, so that means my disposable cash is less. I will not compare myself to someone who has no children and thus more resources, it’s just not fair to me. That was the point I was trying to get across to this person today. I also think it makes no sense to continue to wallow in negativity. If I just had X or Y, then I could be that good. Well, be as good as you can be. You are your only litmus test. Compare yourself to where you were a year ago, have you moved forward or backwards? What were your goals and have you achieved them?

My goal last year was to go to Arizona for USDAA nationals in agility. I qualified for the second year in a row (yay Rah), but I just couldn’t do it. It would have meant time off from work I couldn’t afford, flying my dog in cargo (oh hell no), and trying to find child care while I was gone. It just didn’t happen. This year? I have put my goals all over the universe, we’ll see. Goals are just that, something to strive for, but while you’re trying to get there don’t forget to enjoy the ride. Sometimes the lessons are in the ride, not in the destination.

Training: Rah is backing up well and so is Kit. We didn’t work any of our levels stuff this week http://www.dragonflyllama.com/%20DOGS/%20Dog1/levels.html but I’ve been really tired and not feeling like training much. For next week, get Rah into Level 5 and Kit into Level 3. Demi’s training is on hold, she is spending a lot of time chilling with Aiden.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

